The Route

The Route

The following pages offer you  information on everything you ever wanted to know about A Pennine Journey – from its original 1938 route as devised by Alfred Wainwright, to route changes, route history and the modern version of the route along with stages broken down day by day.

The Swale heading towards Muker

Route Summary

A resume of the Pennine Journey route broken down into each stage complete with a summary of each days route and option to  download each days GPX route file.

Route Changes

A list of all permanent and temporary route changes as well as details of how to easily add Penyghent into your PJ adventure.

The original 1938 route

Discover more about AW’s original Pennine Journey back in 1938 along with route info for each of the 11 stages he walked.

Route History

Read more about how the 247 miles and 18 stages of the modern Pennine Journey came into existence.

Pennine Journey logo

thank you for

We will respond to your message as soon as we can. In the meantime, why not browse more of the site and plan your perfect Pennine Journey walk?